Skip to main content

De Paul Library Policies: Collection Management

Make a Request

To suggest an item for purchase by the De Paul Library please send an email or contact the Circulation Desk at 913-758-6306.

Librarians

Danielle Dion, MBA, MLIS, MA
Vice President, Keleher Learning Commons and Student Development
danielle.dion@stmary.edu
913-758-6111

Contact Danielle for division administration needs and suggestions.


Ashley Creek
Director of the Keleher Learning Commons

ashley.creek@stmary.edu
913-758-4329

Contact Ashley for instruction requests, collection suggestions, donations, faculty research needs, circulation related questions, interlibrary loan requests, reserves, as well as to get help with educational technology.

 

Guidelines for Selection

Collaboration between library staff, faculty and students is essential to successful collection management. Decisions regarding suggestions for library purchases or gift acceptance will be based on the following criteria:

  • Does the material support the current undergraduate and graduate curricula?
  • Is the information needed for new courses or programs?
  • Does the item contain information of lasting value to the collection or provide multiple perspectives?
  • What is the cost of the material?
  • In which language is the item available?
  • How authoritative is the author or what is the reputation of the publisher?
  • How many copies or different editions are needed?

To make a specific request for purchase or recommend subject development, contact the De Paul Library Director.

Gift Acceptance

Interested in making a donation of books and other library materials? Contact the De Paul Library Director for a decision about acceptance of the gift.

Materials will be considered for addition to the collections by assessment of their quality and value to the strategic goals of the library. Offered items should be current or classic, and be in good physical condition, free of stains, mildew, missing pages or markings. In general, gifts should meet the same criteria for selection as other new acquisitions.

Gifts will only be accepted when offered unconditionally to the library. Donors are advised that:

  • Not all donated materials will be incorporated into the library collections.
  • The library will decide on the conditions of display, storage and access to the materials.
  • Items not selected may be put on a free book cart, sold to dealers, shared with other universities or otherwise disposed.
  • Once received, items become property of the library and cannot be returned to the donor.

In accordance with IRS regulations, the library does not evaluate gifts for tax purposes. Appraisals are the responsibility of the donor. However, each donor will receive a written acknowledgement, with a count of items donated, and the date received by the library unless requested otherwise.

Replacement of Lost, Damaged or Missing Items

Library material that has gone missing, not been returned or damaged will be replaced as long as the item is still available for purchase through the book trade, is determined to still be appropriate and relevant to the collection, and is allowed by library budget.

Users responsible for lost or damaged items will be charged replacement fees.

Deselection Standards

To enable the location of current, accurate and relevant information, it is necessary to remove materials that no longer serve the needs of the USM community. Regular collection maintenance makes available materials more visible and increases overall use of the library resources.

These factors are considered when an item is to be reviewed for withdrawal:

  • Value to the collection: How does this item contribute to the subject area? Does it have historical value?
  • Poor physical condition: Is the material damaged or worn?
  • Older editions: Has the information been updated in a newer edition? 
  • Duplication: Are multiple copies present or is the item duplicated by open electronic access?
  • Inappropriate content: Does the material contain biased, racist or sexist materials?
  • Information relevancy: Does the item hold outdated or inaccurate information no longer used?
  • Completeness: Is this item part of an incomplete set?

If faculty members question specific discard decisions, contact the Library Director, who will consider those recommendations.