Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research on the Free Web Tutorial: E. Google Scholar

Free articles on the Web! Sometimes.

Google Scholar

For additional information, check out Google's About Google Scholar and Google Scholar help pages.

What How
How it works            
  • Sends out spiders designed to find information in citation form It searches the surface web, and as much of the deep and hidden web as it can.
  • Ranks results primarily by how many other articles have cited it. So significant, but not necessarily recent, items are at the top.
  • Provides advanced search capabilities for author, journal, date and check boxes for patent and legal searching.
Free web articles
  • If the full-text is on the free web, a link to the right is provided next to the result. 
  • Many citations are pulled from bibliographies and the full-text of the item is not available on the free web.
Fee web articles
  • Provides additional full-text links to subscription databases for partner libraries.
    • Searches done on campus computers to see the links to these additional articles.
    • Searches from computers off campus will not.
    Unavailable through Google No link shown for full-text? Then:
    Other Issues
    • Remember: Google Scholar supplements but does not replace searching subscription-based library databases because:
      • There is rarely enough full-text material to meet your need
      • It is much harder to make Google Scholar list recent sources that are relevant
      • Specialized databases let you search for specific needs in a discipline (e.g. for grade level in education)

    Google Scholar

    Stand on the shoulders of giants

     

    Previous  /  Next