Use the links on this page to find images for your class assignments!
Online Image Resources
Art History Resources
Current art history news, comments, updates, pictures, videos, reviews, and information collected by Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe, art historian and professor at Sweet Briar College.
ARTstor
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Website includes links to collections, university art departments article indexes, and many other art resources.
ArtLex Art Dictionary
Art dictionary with definitions for more than 3,600 terms used in discussing art and visual culture, along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, great quotations, and cross-references.
Arts of Native America
Informative site about the arts of Native Americans organized by region and featuring examples of art styles.
LatinArt.com
Archive of Latin artists, exhibitions, and art issues.
Art Museums in the United States
Collection of links to museums with fine art collections and an online presence organized by state. A directory of US Art Museums.
Ad*Access from Duke University Libraries Digital Collections
Image database of over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955
Art Museums on the Web
Art Museum Network
Platform for opinions about and collaboration among leading art museums that seeks to provide new ideas about familiar challenges. Features links to articles, presentations, videos, and related resources.
Lost Treasure from Iraq
Maintained by the Oriental Institute of Chicago, features information on art treasures recovered from Iraq. Contains links to the museum's database as well as photos of archeological sites and bibliographies of museum contents.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
The online collection for the Metropolitan Museum, featuring over 400,000 items.
Getty Open Content Images
Search for images of Getty Museum objects that are available for use, without restriction.
Museum of Web Art
A virtual museum featuring art made electronically for the web.
National Gallery of Art
Official website for the National Gallery with links to its online collections and exhibitions.
Prints & Photographs Division of the Library of Congress
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.
The British Museum
Information on the museum exhibitions and access to images with unrestricted non-commercial use.
Pictify
Social media for art lovers with the ability to share favorite artworks, add comments, and build collections of favorite paintings, sculptures, photography, drawings, or any other art medium.
General Image Collections
Google Images
Comprehensive web image search, with the ability to filter by size, color, type, currency, and usage rights.
BBC Art History
Collection of articles and accompanying images published by BBC under the art history tag.
BBC Your Paintings
Your Paintings is a website which aims to show the entire UK national collection of oil paintings, the stories behind the paintings, and where to see them for real. It is made up of paintings from thousands of museums and other public institutions around the country.
Creative Commons
Creative Commons search allows access to images without restrictions (or with clear information about restrictions). There is a filter for Google Images set with the ability to search for images without copyright restrictions.
Shared Shelf Commons
Shared Shelf Commons is a free, open-access library of images. Search and browse collections with tools to zoom, print, export, and share images. Institutions that subscribe to Shared Shelf, a Web-based service for cataloging and managing digital collections, can share their images with the world via the Commons. Check out the De Paul Library Abraham Lincoln Portrait Collection!
Google Art Project
Google's collaboration with over 250 institutions to enable people to discover and view artworks online. Now includes more than 45,000 objects by over 6,000 artists in high resolution and 360-degree gallery views.
Library of Congress: American Memory
Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
The NYPL's collection of 830,000 digitized items featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Archives of American Art
Archive dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.
Art History Network
General guide to art history, with information on famous artists, art styles and periods, art mediums, and ancient art.
Art History Resources on the Web Current art history news, comments, updates, pictures, videos, reviews, and information collected by Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe, art historian and professor at Sweet Briar College.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Presented by the Metropolitan Museum of art, a view of its collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Includes timelines, world maps, thematic essays, works of art, and indexes.
Khan Academy: Art History
Guide to art history created by the Khan academy in partnership with art historians and museum partners featuring videos and articles on various art history topics.
Mother of All Art and Art History Links
Master list of links to resources for art and art history maintained by the University of Michigan School of Art and Design.
Timelines of Art History
Timeline of ancient art with images and information about various periods in art history.
Art History Research Centre Website includes links to collections, university art departments article indexes, and many other art resources.
