Skip to main content

Copyright: Linking to Resources

Guide for using copyrighted materials for students and faculty.

How to Link to Licensed Resources

Creating Durable Links

Also known as persistent links, permalinks, stable links.

One of the best ways to avoid copyright issues is to directly link to articles, e-book chapters, or e-books licensed by the university. De Paul Library's many resources each work a little differently, but here you can find some examples of how to create durable links to items in different databases.

Your durable links will also serve as proxy links through the library server. Using proxy links:

  • allows access from off-campus
  • prevents unauthorized use of licensed resources

EBSCO databases automatically generate durable proxy links. For all other databases, add "https://stmary.idm.oclc.org/login?url=" at the beginning of the durable link to make it a proxy link.

Use the examples below as a guide for creating durable links for specific resources. Once you have the link, you can either directly paste the address for the durable link for the resource into your reading list or embed the link into your citation. For more information about creating linked items, contact Danielle Dion.

Examples for Linking to Resources

EBSCO Databases
Such as: Academic Search Complete, CINAHL Complete, and Business Source Premier

Once you've found an item you'd like to use, click on the title to open a detailed entry. On the tool bar on the right side of the screen, locate the permalink icon. Click on this icon to reveal a durable proxy link you can copy and paste into your course space.

To link directly to a full text, open the full text in your browser and again locate the permalink icon on the right side. Copy and paste the link into your course space.


Gale Databases
Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center, Psychology Collection, Criminal Justice Collection, and Business Insights Global

Once you've found an item you'd like to use, click on the title to open a detailed entry. Locate the Bookmark icon at the top of the page, and click on it to reveal the URL. This is the permalink for the item. Copy and paste the URL, and add the proxy address "https://stmary.idm.oclc.org/login?url=" to the beginning of the URL to create the durable proxy link in your course space.

To link directly to a full text, open the full text in your browser and again click on the Bookmark icon at the top of the page. Copy and paste the URL link into your course space, and remember to add the proxy "https://stmary.idm.oclc.org/login?url=" to the beginning.


​JSTOR
Once you've found an item you'd like to use, click on the title to open a detailed entry. The stable URL is listed as part of the item information underneath the title. Copy and paste the URL, and add the proxy address "https://stmary.idm.oclc.org/login?url=" to the beginning of the URL to create the durable proxy link in your course space.

To link directly to a full text, click on the option to Download PDF. Accept the terms and conditions, and the PDF should open in a new window (be sure to allow pop-ups for JSTOR). Copy and paste the URL address from the new window into your course space, and remember to add the proxy "https://stmary.idm.oclc.org/login?url=" to the beginning.

 

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health
Once you've found an item you'd like to use, click on the title to open a detailed entry. The stable URL is listed as part of the item information underneath the title. Copy and paste the URL, making sure the it begins with "https://stmary.idm.oclc.org/login?url=" to create the durable proxy link in your course space.


​PubMed
PubMed is a resource with open use and access to the public. The URLs on PubMed are already durable links. Once you find an article you'd like to use, simply copy and paste the URL for the item into your course space. No proxy link is necessary, as the website is open to the public.

To link directly to a free full text available on PubMed, simply copy the link address for the full text item from the PubMed entry and paste it into your course space.


E-Books and Chapters Using eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
eBook Collection is an EBSCO database, so you can follow the steps listed above to create a durable link to a book or full text. To link to a specific chapter, navigate to the chapter in the full text view using the Table of Contents and use the permalink icon to view the durable proxy URL to copy and paste into your course space.