Skip to main content

Holocaust Survivor Resources: Home

Midwest Center for Holocaust Education

 The Midwest Center for Holocaust Education (MCHE) was founded in 1993 by Holocaust survivors Isak Federman and Jack Mandelbaum. We teach the history of the Holocaust, applying its lessons to counter indifference, intolerance, and genocide. Located at the Jewish Community Campus in Overland Park, MCHE reaches thousands of youths and adults each year through school and community outreach programs, often offered in cooperation with other not-for-profits. 

Defying the Nazis: The Sharps' War

Join an American couple’s courageous mission in 1939 to help refugees escape Nazi-occupied Europe. Over the course of two years, the pair will risk their lives so that hundreds can live in freedom. A new film by Ken Burns and Artemis Joukowsky.

Ask Chat Box

chat loading...

USC Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive

The Visual History Archive® is USC Shoah Foundation’s online portal that allows users to search through and view more than 53,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Archive has expanded significantly to include survivor and witness testimony from four other genocidal events: the Armenian Genocide (1915-1923), the Nanjing Massacre (1937), the Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda (1994) and the Guatemalan Genocide (1978-1996).

Also being added to the Archive are collections of Holocaust testimonies recorded and owned by other organizations, such as Jewish Family and Children's Services (JFCS) Holocaust Center, and a consortium of 9 Canadian archives which represent the Canadian Jewish experience across Canada.

The interviews have been conducted in 63 countries and 40 languages. Each collection adds context for the others, providing multiple pathways to learn from the eyewitnesses of history across time, locations, cultures and sociopolitical circumstances.

Viewable on the VHA Online are about 1,600 testimony videos from survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and a limited selection of testimony videos from survivors and witnesses of the Armenian Genocide, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, and the 1994 Rwandan Tutsi Genocide. Access requires registration for a free account. 

Testimony videos not viewable in the VHA Online can be viewed onsite at many institutions around the world. Find an access site near you , where all testimony videos can be viewed.

Additional collections will be added as we continue to work with partners globally.