Keleher Learning Commons: Honors FYE: Digital Humanities & Supplemental Resources

Digital Humanities

What is Digital Humanities?
Refresh this webpage to get a new definition each time. Quotes were pulled from participants from the Day of DH between 2009-2012. As of December 2012, the database contains over 500 rows and randomly selects a quote each time the page is loaded.
Defining Digital Humanities: A Reader
This reader brings together, for the first time, in one core volume the essential readings that have emerged in Digital Humanities. Great for scholars and students who want to discover the history of Digital Humanities through its core writings, and for those who wish to understand the many possibilities that exist when trying to define DH.
A 3-Step Introduction to Digital Humanities for Library-Dwellers
A blog post for Hack Library School that quickly defines what Digital Humanities is/are and the issues DH raises for libraries and librarians.
Digital Humanities FlipBoard
An 884-article (and counting) visual flipboard of DH projects. Take a peek to see the wide world of DH.

Special thanks to the University of Tennessee and University of Minnesota Duluth for this list of DH Resources.

Supplemental Resources: Image, Video, & Sound Repositories

Flickr Commons - British Library
Flickr Creative Commons Images
Free Sound
Creative Commons Sound Depository
Internet Archive
Archived Web Pages and Content
Library of Congress Digital Collections
American Memory Project
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Chronicling America
"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."
Project Gutenberg
"Project Gutenberg offers over 46,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online."
HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations.
Library of Congress Digital Collections & Services
"Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services"
University of Michigan Digital Library Production
New York Public Library | Digital Collections
NYPL Digital Collections provides free and open access to nearly 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs, streaming videos, and more added each day.

Supplemental Resources: Data Repositories

Data Dryad
DataDryad.org is a curated general-purpose repository that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable
Data.gov
The United States Goverments Open Access Repository for Data Sets.

OECD iLibrary (formerly SourceOECD)
Online full-text of all publications and serials from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) from 1998 to present; also includes a large collection of data sets

Pub Med Data Sets Search Field
RE3data.org (REgistry of REsearch Data REpository)
"re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the perma"nent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.
Stanford University Digital Depositories
Contains repositories for Astronomy and physics, Biology and life sciences, Chemistry, Computer science and source code, Earth, ecology, environment, and geosciences, GIS and geography, Humanities and social sciences, and Species-specific repositories
University of Minnesota Digital Conservancy
World Wide Science
"WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world"
JSTOR Data for Research
After creating a free account, users can submit requests for mining and analyzing JSTOR content. Users can choose to receive the following results:

Citations Only (all requests come with citations by default)
Word Counts
Bigrams
Trigrams
Quadgrams
Key Terms
References

Honors FYE

Supplemental Resources: Maps & GIS

USM Honors

Digital Humanities

Supplemental Resources: Image, Video, & Sound Repositories

Supplemental Resources: Data Repositories