Skip to main content

Curating an Active Learning Ecosystem: A Model: Service Learning

De Paul Library Special Collections Service Learning

De Paul Library Special Collections Service Learning

University of Saint Mary

Created by Lindsay Schettler

02/10/2016

First Year Undergraduates participate in the USM First Year Experience Service Learning Program that unites community service and instruction encouraging critical thinking and personal reflection. Students work with two major USM De Paul Library Special Collections, the Sir John & Mary Craig Scripture Collection (http://stmary.libguides.com/craigscripturescollection) and the Bernard H. Hall Abraham Lincoln Collection (http://stmary.libguides.com/Lincoln). The projects explore archive fundamentals, information technology, sustainability, data accessibility, digital curation, preservation, and discoverable information production within an academic library special collections. Students develop empirical, analytical, and methodical skills through archival processing and digital curation workflows and projects using primary sources from special collections.  

 

De Paul Library Special Collections Service Learning Job Description

De Paul Library Special Collections Service Learning Job Description

University of Saint Mary

Created by Lindsay Schettler

02/10/2016

Students will develop strong technology management and performance skills through a digital curation project working with Drupal Gardens. Digital curation involves maintaining, preserving, and adding value to digital research data throughout its lifecycle. Students will get a glimpse of how this data lifecycle works and produce a tangible digital exhibit using USM De Paul Library Special Collections data assets. The students will conceptualize and plan the creation of the digital exhibit through theme, narration, selection, quality control, and building their exhibit page. Students will then implement their plans and ensure that the design is accessible from the frontend. Once the design element is in place, the students will be introduced to digital preservation and learn about the process for long-term preservation of their digital exhibits. The students will present their projects with a poster and digital walkthrough of their exhibit.