Skip to main content

Spanish: Hispanic Nobel Prize Winners

This guide provides resources for students at the University of Saint Mary and was created as a partnership with the students and faculty in Multilingual Societies: Spanish in Contact with other Languages Around the World (SPA 465).

Nobel Peace (Permios Nobel)


                                                                                                                                  For more information, please visit Nobel Prize.


  • Mario José Molina Pasquel Herníquez 1995 México
    • won for his work in atmospheric chemistry, particularly concerning the formation and decomposition of ozone.


  • Jose Echegaray: 1904 España
    • recognition of the numerous and brilliant compositions which, in an individual and original manner, have revived the great traditions of the Spanish drama
  • Jacito Benavente: 1922 España
    • Won for the happy manner in which he has continued the illustrious traditions of the Spanish drama.
  • Gabriela mistral: 1945 Chile
    •  Won for her lyric poetry which, inspired by powerful emotions, has made her name a symbol of the idealistic aspirations of the entire Latin American world
  • Miguel Angel Asturias 1967 Guatemala
    • Won for his vivid literary achievement, deep-rooted in the national traits and traditions of Indian peoples of Latin America.
  • Pablo Neruda: 1971 Chile
    • Won for a poetry that with the action of an elemental force brings alive a continent's destiny and dreams.
  • Vincente Aleixandre: 1977 España
    • Won for a creative poetic writing which illuminates man's condition in the cosmos and in present-day society, at the same time representing the great renewal of the traditions of Spanish poetry between the wars.
  • Gabriel García Márquez: 1982 Colombia
    • Won for his method of reproducing colours photographically based on the phenomenon of interference.
  • Camilo Jose Cela: 1989 España
    • Won for a rich and intensive prose, which with restrained compassion forms a challenging vision of man's vulnerability
  • Octavio Paz: 1990 México
    • Won for impassioned writing with wide horizons, characterized by sensuous intelligence and humanistic integrity.
  • Mario Vargas Llosa: 2010 Perú
    • Won for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt, and defeat.



  • Santiago Ramon y Cajal: 1906 España
    • He won for the work on the structure of the nervous system.
  • Bernardo Houssay: 1947 Argentina
    • Won a prize for his discovery of the part played by the hormone of the anterior pituitary lobe in the metabolism of sugar.
  • Severo Ochoa: 1959 España
    • Won for his discovery of the mechanisms in the biological synthesis of ribonucleic acid and deoxyribonucleic acid.
  • Baruj Benacerraf: 1980 Venezuela
    • Won for his discoveries concerning genetically determined structures on the cell surface that regulate immunological reactions
  • César Milstein 1984 Argentina
    • Won for theories concerning the specificity in development and control of the immune system and the discovery of the principle for production of monoclonal antibodies


  • Carlos Saavedra Robles: 1936 Argentina
    • The first Latin American Nobel Peace Prize Winner
  • Adolfo Pérez Esquivel:  1980 Argentina
    • Known as a human rights activist and opponent of all violence.
  • Alfonso García Robles:1982 México
    • "He played a key part in the laborious efforts to make Latin America a nuclear-free zone, which led to an agreement signed by 14 states in Mexico City in 1967."
  • Óscar Arias Sánchez: 1987 Costa Rica
    • President of Costa Rica and made planed design to put an end to the cruel civil wars that were devastating Central America.
  • Rigoberta Menchú: 1992 Guatemala
    • She worked for the rights of indigenous peoples and reconciliation between ethnic groups.
  • Juan Manuel Santos: 2016
    • President Juan Manuel Santos took the initiative for negotiations between the government and the FARC guerillas. In June 2016, an agreement was reached on a ceasefire. Colombia