The Commons has a number of tools and guides designed to help you through every stage of the research process. And remember, USM's Librarians can help you find anything you need!
This comprehensive database contains over 13,780 indexed and abstracted journals and 9,000 full-text journals on most academic disciplines. The database has full-text content for more than 7,850 peer-reviewed journals and is updated daily.
Integrating millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content, Science is updated daily and offers over 600 pages on topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts™ contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
Medline Complete covers a wide range of subjects with full-text for more than 2,300 journals. It is an essential resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
The American Chemical Society offers several open-access journals and publications including Precision Chemistry, ACS Bio & Med Chem, and ACS Central Science.
The Royal Society of Chemistry freely offers articles and other resources from its most recently published journals and publications, including Chemical Science, Green Chemistry, Analyst, and the New Journal of Chemistry.
The Society for Science & the Public offers access to networking and funding opportunities, teacher resources, and concise updates on the state of new research across many fields in in its publication, ScienceNews.
ChemSpider allows researchers to very quickly find information on systematic name, SMILES, trade names, and other means of identifying and describing more than 100 million molecules and chemical structures.
This collaborative submission, distribution, and archive service allows free access to research articles and data from scientists around the globe before it undergoes formal peer review. While the work has not yet gone through a formal peer review for publishing, checks are made for plagiarized, highly controversial, and non-scientific content.
Designed for use in clinical settings, biomedical libraries and academic-medical institutions, this subscription collection features over 2,000 hand-selected, quality titles that focus on medical specialties, nursing, allied health and general practice areas.
Through the eBook Clinical Collection, users have access to the most current content; all titles in the collection are from 2008 and forward (with a significant majority of titles from 2010 and later), and newer titles replace older content as updates are made so that users always have access to the latest information.
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals valued at $478,475.88, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source™ provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations.
