Keleher Learning Commons: Business: Statistics & Data

Today's Hours	8am – 10pm

Quick Start: Finding Statistics & Data

ICPSR
Social science data archive (data files). Holdings include a range of subject areas including population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, crime, aging, and substance abuse. USC users will need to create an account with a USC email on-campus to download data.
World Development Indicators (World Bank)
International statistics with some data back to 1960. Includes more than 900 development indicators for over 200 countries covering economic policy and debt, education, environment, financial sector, health, infrastructure, labor and social protection, poverty, private sector and trade, and public sector.
Dataverse Network Project
Developed at Harvard University by the Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS), the Dataverse Network Project is an open-source web application for creating online “dataverses” or data archives. Use to browse other archives or create your own.
CESSDA
Council of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA) is "a gateway to many kinds of research data and metadata, including sociological surveys, election studies, longitudinal studies, opinion polls, and census data."
data.gov
New site for locating U.S. data sources. Within catalog, check out the "Raw data", "tools", and "Geodata" tabs.
National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS) Data Archive
NCCS derives its data files primarily from information that tax-exempt nonprofit organizations file with the Internal Revenue Service. The data produced by NCCS are intended for use by researchers and policy-makers in their quantitative analyses, and as a springboard for more in-depth survey or case study research.
Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research (CISER )
The collection includes federal and state census files, administrative records, public opinion surveys, economic and social data from national and international organizations, along with studies compiled by individual researchers. In addition, Cornell University subscribes to many different data resources including ICPSR and the Roper Center, providing access to a large variety of additional data sources. The CISER archive was founded in 1982.
UK Data Service
The UK Data Service collection includes major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate, business data, and qualitative data.

Citing Data

Examples of Data Citation:

APA (6th edition)

United States Census Bureau. (2000). Census 2000 summary file 3: Maryland raw data [Data File]. Retrieved 12/15/2017 from http://www2.census.gov/census_2000/datasets/Summary_File_3/Maryland/.

MLA (9th edition)

Milberger, Sharon. “Evaluation of Violence against Women with Physical Disabilities in Michigan, 2000-2001.” Evaluation of Violence Against Women With Physical Disabilities in Michigan, 2000-2001, Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research [Distributor], 30 Mar. 2006, https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/web/NACJD/studies/3414.

ICPSR "How to Cite Data" Guide

Unlocking the Power of Open Data

Data Equity for Main Street
The Data Equity for Main Street project has developed curriculum to promote open data literacy. The curriculum comprises four classes covering open data basics, metadata, visualization, feedback and engagement with open data publishers.

Demographic Research & Resources

Catalyst -- Research
Free research and reports covering women in the workplace demographics
Pew Research Center - Generations & Age
Select TOPICS to search for reports by subject. Select REPORTS to browse available reports, DATASETS on multiple demographics are also available for download as reports.
Population Reference Bureau
Search the 'Data Center' tab for U.S. and international data culled from regional sources.
American Customer Satisfaction Index
Contains benchmarking reports gauging consumers' satisfaction with products and services.

Specialized ICPSR Archives

ICPSR also hosts a number of specialized data archives, including:

U.S. Government Resources

BLS Labor Force Statistics
This page from the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics contains information about national labor force statistics with demographic characteristics available from the Current Population Survey (CPS).
BLS Consumer Expenditure Survey
Current Populations Survey
Data provided through a joint effort between the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Census Bureau
Current Population Reports
Data supplied by the U.S. Census Bureau
CensusScope
Portal to US Census data
State & County Quick Facts
Data supplied by the U.S. Census Bureau
Survey of Consumer Finances
Triennial reports published by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Demographic Turning Points of the U.S.: population projections for 2020 - 2060
Population estimates and projections from U.S. Census Bureau

International Statistics & Resources

International Labour Organization
See 'Newsroom' tab for latest news; Select PUBLICATIONS for recent reports; RESEARCH for reports on employment quality, inequality, labor standards, etc.
World Economic Forum - Population
Various reports from the World Economic Forum
World Bank DataBank: Population Estimates & Projections
World Population Prospects
Reports and data issued by the United Nations
World Health Organization: Data
Dashboards, reports, data sets, and databases with current and historic health measures and international intervention programs.