Skip to main content

LeBeau Special Collections & University Archives: Visiting Special Collections

Hours and Location

The University of Saint Mary De Paul Library's Special Collections is currently under construction and is expected to be open to the general public in February 2019. During construction, we are able to provide tours and instruction showcasing select items from Special Collections on our main library floor by appointment only.

The Special Collections is located on the mezzanine in De Paul Library. Visitor parking is available in front of the library, on the side, and in the back. We are handicap accessible, however please ask one of the library staff at the main desk near the entrance for access to the elevator. 

We are open to students of the college, faculty, staff, and alumni. We also welcome scholars, researchers, and the general public to use our collections. Those interested in using the collections must email or call Danielle Dion, Library Director, to make an appointment between 8:00 AM- 4:30 PM.

For instruction information and appointments please click on the lib guide tab: Special Collections Instruction & Outreach. 

University of Saint Mary

Keleher Learning Commons

Special Collections Unit

4100 S 4th St, Leavenworth, KS 66048

(913) 758-6306

8:00 AM to 4:30 PM 

 

Visiting Special Collections

The University of Saint Mary De Paul Library's Special Collections is currently under construction and is expected to be open to the general public in February 2019. During construction, we are able to provide tours and instruction showcasing select items from Special Collections on our main library floor by appointment only.

Special Collections contain rare, valuable, and fragile material and need to be handled with precaution. The USM Special Collections contains manuscripts, rare books, artwork, and various other types of materials that are unique and irreplaceable. This is why we have restrictions of what you can bring in to the room and what you can take out. 

Prepare:

·       List of materials (collection names, book titles, call numbers) you would like to view

·       Photo ID

·       Wash and dry hands prior to touching material

Allowed in Special Collections:

·       Notebook, laptop computer, or tablet for taking notes

·       Pencil

·       Digital Camera (no flash)

·       Sweater

NOT allowed in Special Collections:

·       Food (including gum), drink, tobacco products

·       Pens, markers, ink of any kind

·       Portable scanners

·       Coats or Jackets

·       Backpacks, bags, purses (A secure area to keep these items is in the Special Collections.)

Staff has the right to refuse entry of any items they deem unfitting for the security of our collections. Staff also has the right to search users’ items upon leaving Special Collections. 

Special Collections Libguides

Care & Handling Guidelines

1. Always have clean, dry hands. Wash your hands every time before you handle special collections material. 

2. Wear nitrile gloves when handling photographs. 

3. Always use a pencil, never a pen or marker. 

4. Note paper, tablets, and laptops are allowed. Never place on top of material. 

5. Keep paper material flat on the table. If provided in a sleeve or folder, lay on top of the housing material. 

6. Always keep the documents in order in which they were given.

7.  Remove only one folder at a time. 

8. Use a book cradle and special weights for bound material, if they are provided. 

9. Use only the acid-free strips provided by the repository as place markers.

10.  Keep folders and pages flat on table, do not hold in hands. 

11. Do not tap pages to realign them within a folder. Consult Special Collections staff. 

12. Use a folder to turn over fragile or large items. Staff will assist when needed. 

13. When leaving for a short time, close the volume, folder or box. Return to staff if leaving for more than 5 minutes. 

14. Please notify library staff if any of the material is damaged or out of sequence. 

 

Credit to Donia Conn.