Skip to main content

LeBeau Special Collections & University Archives: Home

Ask Chat Box

chat loading...

Image of Saint Mary graduates in cap and gown

The Lincoln Collection

Portrait of Abraham LincolnThe Bernard H. Hall Abraham Lincoln Collection contains more than 10,000 items and memorabilia, including:

One of the 14 known original copies of the 13th Amendment to the Constitution.

One of two known letters written by Mrs. Lincoln and co-signed by Lincoln.

One of Lincoln's last messages to his wife – a telegram from Grant's headquarters sharing news of the imminent end of the Civil War.

A lock of hair purportedly taken from Lincoln's head at the time of his death.

The Scripture Collection

The Sir John and Mary Craig Scripture Collection consists of more than 2,000 cataloged items, including:

45 single-leaf manuscripts dating from the 12th century.

9 books of exegesis, philosophy, and theology, and eight completed Bibles printed before 1501.

The first English translation of the Latin Vulgate: the Rheims New Testament of 1582 and the two-volume Douai Old Testament of 1609-10.

The first American edition of the Doway-Rheims Bible published in Philadelphia in 1790.

Mission Statement

The University of Saint Mary’s LeBeau Special Collections mission is in accordance with the mission statement of the University of Saint Mary and serves as the Keleher Learning Commons Special Collections unit for the university, local community, and society at large by collecting, preserving, disseminating, providing access to research, instructional use, and interpret the primary source historical material donated, selected, and held within our collections.

The LeBeau Special Collections are proud to house many historic items; the jewels of our collection are the Bernard H. Hall Abraham Lincoln Collection and the John & Mary Craig Scripture Collection. The University is pleased to be able to share all of our collections with the general public.