Keleher Learning Commons: Citing Sources: Linking to Library Resources

How to Link to Licensed Resources

Creating Durable Links

Also known as persistent links, permalinks, stable links.

One of the best ways to avoid copyright issues is to directly link to articles, e-book chapters, or e-books licensed by the university. De Paul Library's many resources each work a little differently, but here you can find some examples of how to create durable links to items in different databases.

Your durable links will also serve as proxy links through the library server. Using proxy links:

allows access from off-campus
prevents unauthorized use of licensed resources

EBSCO databases automatically generate durable proxy links. For all other databases, add "https://stmary.idm.oclc.org/login?url=" at the beginning of the durable link to make it a proxy link.

Use the examples below as a guide for creating durable links for specific resources. Once you have the link, you can either directly paste the address for the durable link for the resource into your reading list or embed the link into your citation. For more information about creating linked items, contact ask@stmary.edu.

Examples for Linking to Resources

EBSCO Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This comprehensive database contains over 13,780 indexed and abstracted journals and 9,000 full-text journals on most academic disciplines. The database has full-text content for more than 7,850 peer-reviewed journals and is updated daily.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL® Complete is rich collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1937.
EBSCOhost Database
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
EBSCOhost Database

Once you've found an item you'd like to use, click on the title to open a detailed entry. On the tool bar on the right side of the screen, locate the permalink icon. Click on this icon to reveal a durable proxy link you can copy and paste into your course space.

To link directly to a full text, open the full text in your browser and again locate the permalink icon on the right side. Copy and paste the link into your course space.

Gale Databases

Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window Business Insights: Global is a source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries. Also known as Gale Business Insights.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

Once you've found an item you'd like to use, click on the title to open a detailed entry. Locate the Bookmark icon at the top of the page, and click on it to reveal the URL. This is the permalink for the item. Copy and paste the URL, and add the proxy address "https://stmary.idm.oclc.org/login?url=" to the beginning of the URL to create the durable proxy link in your course space.

To link directly to a full text, open the full text in your browser and again click on the Bookmark icon at the top of the page. Copy and paste the URL link into your course space, and remember to add the proxy "https://stmary.idm.oclc.org/login?url=" to the beginning.

JSTOR

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations.

Once you've found an item you'd like to use, click on the title to open a detailed entry. The stable URL is listed as part of the item information underneath the title. Copy and paste the URL, and add the proxy address "https://stmary.idm.oclc.org/login?url=" to the beginning of the URL to create the durable proxy link in your course space.

To link directly to a full text, click on the option to Download PDF. Accept the terms and conditions, and the PDF should open in a new window (be sure to allow pop-ups for JSTOR). Copy and paste the URL address from the new window into your course space, and remember to add the proxy "https://stmary.idm.oclc.org/login?url=" to the beginning.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source™ provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
ProQuest Database

Once you've found an item you'd like to use, click on the title to open a detailed entry. The stable URL is listed as part of the item information underneath the title. Copy and paste the URL, making sure the it begins with "https://stmary.idm.oclc.org/login?url=" to create the durable proxy link in your course space.

PubMed

PubMed
PubMed is a resource with open use and access to the public. The URLs on PubMed are already durable links. Once you find an article you'd like to use, simply copy and paste the URL for the item into your course space. No proxy link is necessary, as the website is open to the public.

To link directly to a free full text available on PubMed, simply copy the link address for the full text item from the PubMed entry and paste it into your course space.

E-Books & Chapters

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Search and view the full text of over 119,000 academic ebook titles.
EBSCOhost Database

eBook Collection is an EBSCO database, so you can follow the steps listed above to create a durable link to a book or full text. To link to a specific chapter, navigate to the chapter in the full text view using the Table of Contents and use the permalink icon to view the durable proxy URL to copy and paste into your course space.